• banner sub 1
  • banner sub 2
  • banner sub 3
  • banner sub 4

Evans Scholarship Information

The Evans Scholar Foundation is a charitable trust which provides undergraduate scholarships for deserving caddies, a concept originated by Charles "Chick" Evans Jr. and known as the Evans Scholar Program. The Western Golf Association oversees the Evans Scholar Foundation.
An Evans Scholarship is a one-year grant which covers tuition and housing and may be renewed for up to four years at the Foundation's option. To become an Evans Scholar, you must have caddied for a minimum of two years and 50 loops. Applicants also must have a 3.0 or higher GPA and have taken the ACT. Financial need, outstanding character, integrity, and leadership are also all requirements.
The first Evans Scholarship House was established at Northwestern University in 1940. Now, 840 Evans Scholars are enrolled at over 19 universities, and 14 universities have Evans Scholarship Houses. Evans Scholars from all over the nation have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and a graduation rate of 92 percent!
In the state of Colorado there are currently 20 different golf clubs that offer caddie programs to their members!
To inquire about the CommonGround Caddie program or other programs in the area, please contact Emily Olson at eolson@cogolf.org